Cranberry Sauce for your Thanksgiving Dinner

First off – I can’t believe I forgot mine and Scott’s most closely related TV parallel in my last post. Claire and Phil Dunphy are the future Scott and I. There are so many things that Claire and Phil do/say on Modern Family that is just like Scott and I. For example: Scott always says he’s going to be a “cool dad” and Claire referred to Phil as “the kid she’s married to”, sound like Scott? I think so!  As for me as Claire, here’s an excerpt from Wikipedia: “Claire is a very competitive person and is portrayed with a personality that causes her to freak out easily, and get angry. She is very strict about a clean house.” Ask Scott if that sounds like me at all. We both love Modern Family, as everyone should, it’s such a good show!! If you aren’t hooked start watching it! Catch up, we’re only beginning the third season now!

Here’s one of my favorite moments:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since Thanksgiving is tomorrow I thought I’d share my mom’s awesome cranberry sauce recipe. Last Thanksgiving I was living in Alberta with my best friend. We made a turkey for me, her boyfriend and her cousin. So I made cranberry sauce to go with it – turns out only I liked it. I had made way too much! This recipe not only has cranberries, but a pear and an apple too!

Ingredients 

  • 1 bag of cranberries
  • 1 pear (peeled and grated)
  • 1 apple (peeled and grated)
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water

Cranberries, apple, pear, sugar and water. Easy peasy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Directions

Bring to a boil and then simmer. If mixture become to thick add more water. Put in a dish and refrigerate. Best served with turkey, gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes and veggies. Warning: if you eat all of that together you may fall into a deep sleep immediately after.

All the ingredients in a pot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s super easy to make and makes a cooked turkey dinner complete. I’m very excited for Thanksgiving. This year Scott and I are spending it with his uncle’s family. Scott’s three cousins, plus their girlfriends, a dog and a baby are all coming from Calgary! I met everyone today and we headed to a Penticton Vees game (the Junior A team), they won 7-2! This is the second game we’ve been to, the last one was good. Penticton won 4-3, and Scott and I were on the kiss cam. I was gracious as usual and had a mouth full of popcorn. Apparently it was a contest, we didn’t win.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Coming soon Halloween themed post! Until then, I leave you with this:

The one on the left got the expression all wrong.

Leave a comment